Prof. Dr.
Marianne Müller


Group Leader at LIR


Translational Psychiatry
Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy and Focus Program Translational Neurosciences (FTN)
University Medical Center of the Johannes Gutenberg University
Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research (LIR) gGmbH

Hanns-Dieter-Hüsch Weg 19
55128 Mainz

+49 (0) 6131 39 21349



Stress Research

Stress: Neurobiological mechanisms of individual susceptibility to stress; resilience to stress; development of mouse models for stress and resilience research

Identification of novel antidepressant targets

Neurobiological mechanisms underlying heterogeneity to antidepressant treatment; translational studies for the identification of biomarkers predicting antidepressant response


Since 01/2020

Research Group Leader at Leibniz Institute for Resilience Research (LIR) gGmbH, Mainz

01/2018 – 12/2019

Research Group Leader at German Resilience Center (DRZ) gGmbH, Mainz

Since 03/2014

Professorship (W2) in Translational Psychiatry, University of Mainz/Focus Translational Neurosciences

01/2004 – 12/2013

Head Independent Research Group Molecular Stress Physiology (Career breaks due to parental leave from 02/2007 until 08/2007 and 08/2010 until 02/2011)

Since 2004

Minerva Program (Professorship Award/W2 for outstanding female scientists) from the Max Planck Society

01/2004 – 11/2007

Assistant Medical Director, Open Psychiatric Ward (Oberärztin)

Since 12/2003

Board certification in Psychiatry (Fachärztin für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie)

07/1996 – 12/2003

Postdoctoral Researcher, Molecular Neurogenetics Group

01/1996 – 06/1996

Postdoctoral Fellow, Dep. of Neuropathology, University of Bonn Medical Center


van der Kooij MA, Jene T, Treccani G, Miederer I, Hasch A, Voelxen N, Walenta S, Müller MB (2018) Chronic social stress-induced hyperglycemia in mice couples individual stress susceptibility to impaired spatial memory. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 115(43):E10187−E10196.

>> Link to PubMed

Carrillo-Roa T, Labermaier C, Weber P, Herzog DP, Lareau C, Santarelli S, Wagner KV, Rex-Haffner M, Harbich D, Scharf SH, Nemeroff CB, Dunlop BW, Craighead WE, Mayberg HS, Schmidt MV, Uhr M, Holsboer F, Sillaber I, Binder EB, Müller MB (2017) Common genes associated with antidepressant response in mouse and man identify key role of glucocorticoid receptor sensitivity. PLoS Biol 15(12):e2002690. doi: 10.1371/journal.pbio.2002690

>> Link to PubMed

Wagner S, Engel A, Engelmann J, Herzog D, Dreimüller N, Müller MB, Tadic A, Lieb K (2017) Early improvement as a resilience signal predicting later remission to antidepressant treatment in patients with Major Depressive Disorder: Systematic review and meta-analysis. J Psychiatr Res 94:96-106.

>> Link to PubMed

Kalisch R, Müller MB, Tüscher O (2015) A conceptual framework for the neurobiological study of resilience. Behav Brain Sci 27:1-49.

>> Link to PubMed

Masana M, Jukic MM, Kretzschmar A, Wagner KV, Westerholz S, Schmidt MV,  Rein T, Brodski C, Müller MB (2015) Deciphering the spatio-temporal  expression and stress regulation of Fam107B, the paralog of the  resilience-promoting protein DRR1 in the mouse brain. Neuroscience 290:147-58.

>> Link to PubMed

Masana M, Su Y-A, Jansen L, Westerholz S, Liebl C, Wagner KV, Schmidt  MV, Rein T, Müller MB (2014) The stress-inducible actin-interacting  protein DRR1 shapes social behavior. Psychoneuroendocrinology 48:98-110.

>> Link to PubMed

Schmidt MV, Schülke J-P, Liebl C, Stiess M, Avrabos C, Bock J, Wochnik  GM, Davies HA, Zimmermann N, Scharf SH, Trümbach D, Wurst W,  Zieglgänsberger W, Turck C, Holsboer F, Stewart MG, Bradke F, Eder M,  Müller MB*, Rein T* (2011) The tumor suppressor DRR1 is a stress-induced  actin bundling factor that modulates synaptic efficacy and cognition. Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 108: 17213-17218. *shares senior authors

>> Link to PubMed

Coordinating Functions

01/2004 – 12/2013

Speaker and Coordinator of the Psychopharmacology Research Program at the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry (coordinating different projects of preclinical and clinical scientists to bridge the gap between bench and bedside; presentation of the Psychopharmacology Research Program strategy to the external Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry

Awards, Grants and Honor


AGNP Award for Excellence in Psychopharmacology (Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Neuropsychopharmakologie und Pharmakopsychiatrie)


Robert-Sauer Award from the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities


Professorship award (W2) for outstanding women in science from the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Sciences (Minerva Program)


Young Investigator Award of the CINP


Bernhard-von-Gudden Award

2000 – 2003

Bayerischer Habilitations-Förderpreis (Thesis award and 3-years independent research grant from the Bavarian state government for obtaining a postdoctoral degree (Habilitation) to qualify for professor positions in Germany)


Fellowship Award, European College of Neuropsyschopharmacology

1990 – 1995

Fellowship of the German National Academic Foundation (Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)