Prof. Dr.
Amparo Acker-Palmer



Institute of Cell Biology and Neuroscience
Goethe University Frankfurt/Main
Max-von-Laue-Str. 1
60438 Frankfurt/Main

+ 49 (0) 69 798 42563



Since 01/2018

Director of the Interdisciplinary Centre of Neuroscience, Frankfurt/Main

Since 07/2014

Max Planck Fellow, MPI for Brain Research, Frankfurt/Main

Since 04/2011

Full Professor (W3) Chair of the Molecular and Cellular Neurobiology Department, Institute of Cell Biology and Neuroscience Goethe University Frankfurt/Main

11/2007 – 03/2011

Professor (W2) Cluster of Excellence Macromolecular Complexes (CEF), Goethe University Frankfurt/Main

Since 04/2011

Professor (W3) Focus Program Translational Neurosciences (FTN) of the Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz

08/2001 – 10/2007

Junior Group Leader, Max-Planck-Institute of Neurobiology, Martinsried, Germany

07/1996 – 07/2001

Postdoctoral Fellow, EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany


PhD, Instituto de Investigaciones Citologicas, Valencia, Spain


Degree in Biology and Biochemistry, University of Valencia, Spain


Segarra M, Aburto MR, Hefendehl J, Acker-Palmer A (2019) Neurovascular interactions in the nervous system. Annu Rev Cell Dev Biol 35:615–635.

>> Link to PubMed

Segarra M, Aburto MR, Cop F, Llaó-Cid C, Härtl R, Damm M, Bethani I, Parrilla M, Husainie D, Schänzer A, Schlierbach H, Acker T, Mohr L, Torres-Masjoan L, Ritter M, Acker-Palmer A (2018) Endothelial Dab1 signaling orchestrates neuro-glia-vessel communication in the central nervous system. Science 361(6404):eaao2861. doi: 10.1126/science.aao2861

>> Link to PubMed

Geiger JC, Lipka J, Segura I, Hoyer S, Schlager MA, Wulf PS, Weinges S, Demmers J, Hoogenraad CC and Acker-Palmer A (2014) The GRIP1/14-3-3 pathway coordinates cargo trafficking and dendrite development. Developmental Cell 28, 381-393.

>> Link to PubMed

Senturk A, Pfennig S, Weiss A, Burk K, Acker-Palmer A (2011) EphrinBs are functional co-receptors for Reelin to regulate neuronal migration. Nature 472:356-60.

>> Link to PubMed

Sawamiphak S, Seidel S, Essmann CL, Wilkinson G, Pitulescu ME, Acker T, Acker-Palmer A (2010) EphrinB2 regulates VEGFR2 function in developmental and tumour angiogenesis. Nature 465:487–491.

>> Link to PubMed

Essmann CL, Martinez E, Geiger J, Zimmer M, Traut M, Stein V, Klein R, Acker-Palmer A (2008) Serine phosphorylation of ephrinB2 regulates trafficking of synaptic AMPA receptors. Nature Neuroscience 11:105-1043.

>> Link to PubMed

Segura I, Essmann CL, Weinges S, Acker-Palmer A (2007) Grb4 and GIT1 transduce ephrinB reverse signals modulating spine morphogenesis and synapse formation. Nature Neuroscience 10:301-310.

>> Link to PubMed

Coordinating Functions

Since 2017

Board of Directors Minna James Heineman Stiftung

Since 2017

Speaker of DFG Collaborative Research Centre 1080 “Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Neuronal Homeostasis" Mainz/Frankfurt

2013 – 2016

Deputy-Speaker (Frankfurt coordinator) DFG Collaborative Research Centre 1080 “Molecular and Cellular Mechanisms of Neuronal Homeostasis" Mainz/Frankfurt


Speaker Graduate Academy-Brain (Frankfurt University)

Since 2011

Faculty IMPRS “Neural circuits” Max-Planck-Institute for Brain Research Frankfurt

2009 – 2012

Board of Directors Excellence Cluster of Macromolecular Complexes

Mentoring Functions

Mentor Hessian mentoring Program ProProfessur

Max Planck Society's mentoring program Minerva-FemmeNet

Editorial and Scientific Advisory Board


Nature, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Medicine, Nature Communications, Developmental Cell, EMBO


DFG, Max Planck Society, Leibnitz Society, ERC, Welcome Trust, FWF, FWO, ANR, Spanish ministry of education

Awards, Grants and Honor


Member of the German Research Council study section “Neuroscience”


ERC Advanced Grant awardee


EMBO member


Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina


Gutenberg Research Collegue (GRC) Fellow


Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstädter Prize for Young Investigators


Call Full Professor-Director, Institute of Cellular Biophysics, Helmholtz Jülich and  Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf (declined)

2008 – present

Faculty Excellence Cluster Cardio-Pulmonary System

1996 – 1998

Training and Mobility of Researchers (TMR Program) fellow EU


Ph.D. Extraordinary Award by Valencia University